Second Call for Papers and Participation

Arabic Natural Language Processing Workshop

co-located with EMNLP 2014, Doha, Qatar

Workshop date: Saturday October 25, 2014

Extended Paper submission deadline: July 28, 2014

Shared task registration deadline: July 1, 2014

**NEW** The workshop talks are now on Youtube!

Workshop proceedings are online here

Submission instructions are available here

List of Accepted Papers

Workshop Schedule


There has been a lot of progress in the last 15 years in the area of Arabic Natural Language Processing (NLP). Many Arabic NLP (or Arabic NLP-related) workshops and conferences have taken place, both in the Arab World and in association with international conferences. This workshop follows in the footsteps of previous efforts to provide a forum for researchers to share and discuss their ongoing work.

We invite submissions on topics that include, but are not limited to, the following:

Submissions may include work in progress as well as finished work. Submissions must have a clear focus on specific issues pertaining to the Arabic language whether it is standard Arabic, dialectal, or mixed. Descriptions of commercial systems are welcome, but authors should be willing to discuss the details of their work. Submissions are expected to be 8 pages long plus 2 pages for references.


Paper submission deadline: July 28, 2014

Author notification: August 26, 2014

Camera Ready: September 15, 2014

Workshop: October 25, 2014


Associated with the workshop, there will also be a shared task on Arabic text error correction, which we provide further details about here.


Program Co-chairs

Nizar Habash, New York University Abu Dhabi

Stephan Vogel, Qatar Computing Research Institute

Publication Co-chairs

Nadi Tomeh, Paris 13 University

Houda Bouamor, Carnegie Mellon University Qatar

Website Committee

Noura Farra, Columbia University

Kareem Darwish, Qatar Computing Research Institute

Shared Task Committee

Behrang Mohit (co-chair), Carnegie Mellon University Qatar

Alla Rozovskaya (co-chair), Columbia University

Wajdi Zaghouani, Carnegie Mellon University Qatar

Ossama Obeid, Carnegie Mellon University Qatar

Nizar Habash (advisor), New York University Abu Dhabi

Program Committee Members

Abdelmajid Ben-Hamadou, University of Sfax, Tunisia

Abdelhadi Soudi, Ecole Nationale de l’Industrie Minérale, Morocco

Abdelsalam Nwesri, University of Tripoli, Libya

Achraf Chalabi , Microsoft Research, Egypt

Ahmed Ali, Qatar Computing Research Institute, Qatar

Ahmed Rafea, The American University in Cairo, Egypt

Alexis Nasr, University of Marseille, France

Ali Farghaly, Monterey Peninsula College, USA

Almoataz B. Al-Said, Cairo University, Egypt

Alon Lavie, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Aly Fahmy, Cairo University, Egypt

Azadeh Shakery, University of Tehran, Iran

Azzeddine Mazroui, University Mohamed I, Morocco

Bassam Haddad, University of Petra, Jordan

Bayan Abu Shawar, Arab Open University, Jordan

Behrang Mohit, Carnegie Mellon University Qatar, Qatar

Eric Atwell, University of Leeds, UK

Farhad Oroumchian, University of Wollongong, Australia

Ghassan Mourad, Université Libanaise, Lebanon

Hassan Sawaf, eBay Inc., USA

Hazem Hajj, American University of Beirut, Lebanon

Hend Alkhalifa, King Saud University, Saudi Arabia

Houda Bouamor, Carnegie Mellon University Qatar, Qatar

Imed Zitouni, Microsoft Research, USA

Joseph Dichy, Université Lyon 2, France

Karim Bouzoubaa , Mohammad V University, Morocco

Karine Megerdoomian, The MITRE Corporation, USA

Katrin Kirchhoff, University of Washington, USA

Kemal Oflazer, Carnegie Mellon University Qatar, Qatar

Khaled Shaalan, The British University in Dubai, UAE

Khaled Shaban, Qatar University, Qatar

Khalil Sima’an, Universiteit van Amsterdam, Netherlands

Lamia Hadrich Belguith, University of Sfax, Tunisia

Michael Rosner, University of Malta, Malta

Mohamed Elmahdy, Qatar University, Qatar

Mohsen Rashwan, Cairo University, Egypt

Mona Diab, George Washington University, USA

Mustafa Jarrar, Bir Zeit University, Palestine

Nada Ghneim, Higher Institute for Applied Sciences and Technology, Syria

Nadi Tomeh, University Paris 13, France

Ossama Emam, IBM, USA

Otakar Smr_, D_ám-e D_am Language Institute, Czech Republic

Owen Rambow, Columbia University, USA

Preslav Nakov, Qatar Computing Research Institute, Qatar

Ramzi Abbes, TECHLIMED, France

Salwa Hamada, Cairo University, Egypt

Shahram Khadivi, Tehran Polytechnic, Iran

Sherri Condon , The MITRE Corporation, USA

Taha Zerrouki, University of Bouira, Algeria

Violetta Cavalli-Sforza, Al Akhawayn University, Morocco


Nizar Habash, New York University Abu Dhabi

[email protected]